One Event Does Not Define You

Great analogy she uses in this post! She uses it for her student..

I could relate to it as a betrayed wife too. I’m not healing or recovering nearly as well as I’m told I should be… But I’m doing it my way and I’ll get “there”.. Someday.
❤️

Lessons From the End of a Marriage

It was parent conference week at my school this past week. It’s a week I always look forward to (even while I dread the long hours required). I love getting a chance to talk with the parents after I have been able to see their child’s strengths, weaknesses, celebrations and struggles. Most of the conversations and strategies are pretty run-of-the-mill. Helping middle schoolers learn to prioritize, time-manage and organize is an on-going and ever-present task.

But every year since my first in the classroom, I have had a handful of conferences that are anything but run-of-the-mill. Some of the kids that come through my classroom have been through tragedy. Loss. Trauma. And as the teachers sit around the table and learn the information, the missing assignments suddenly become less important than the missing childhood. The focus shifts from succeeding in school to creating a support system to help the child…

View original post 541 more words

Leave a Reply

